November 18, 2013

Staff / Board

Campus Minister – Andy Morgan

Andy Morgan was born and raised in North Carolina. He graduated summa cum laude from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a degree in Religious Studies. After a long and complicated road, he found himself at Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Virginia, where he received both the Masters of Divinity and Master of Arts in Christian Education degrees.

Upon graduating from seminary, he married Sarah Pugh and they moved to Williamsburg, Virginia, where he served as the Director of Christian Education at Williamsburg Presbyterian Church. Andy and Sarah are proud parents to Robert Douglas Morgan, the newest member of the UKirk family.

Andy has a deep and thoughtful faith and is very excited to share his love of Christ with the University community at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville.

Communications Coordinator – Jaclyn Beeler

Jaclyn Beeler is a native of Smyrna, Tennessee. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communication from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and a Bachelor of Science in Christian Leadership and Ministry from Williamson College. Jaclyn is a lifelong Presbyterian, she grew up attending First Presbyterian Church of Smyrna in Middle Tennessee. She was the Director of Youth Ministries there for three years after graduating from WC.

Jaclyn currently resides in Knoxville, Tennessee. Upon her arrival to Knoxville she began working at New Providence Presbyterian Church in Maryville, TN where she was the Children’s Ministries Coordinator for three years. She and her wife, Katherine, are members of Westminster Presbyterian Church here in Knoxville.

Jaclyn has a passion for this ministry, sharing it with others and helping it make its mark on campus.

Student Interns for 2018/2019: Stephanie Harwell, Alayna Cameron and Jack Marshall

The Presbyterian Center is governed by a Board of Directors (instead of a Session, as in a PC(USA) church). The Board of Directors, along with the pastor/director meet once every month, either as a full board or in committee. The Board of Directors is made up of pastors and lay persons from Knoxville, Maryville, and Oak Ridge PC(USA) churches who feel called to serve on the college campus.

Being a mission of the Presbytery of East Tennessee means that UKirk UTK is the college ministry of each of the churches in the PET. We count on the support of each of the churches in the PET to reach out to college students and further the ministry of the Presbyterian Church (USA) on the UT campus.

The Board of Directors for the 2016-2017 school year are:

Emily Sweetland
Farragut Presbyterian Church

John Johnson
Vice Chairperson

Westminster Presbyterian Church

Ken Scarbro
Lake Hills Presbyterian Church

Lisa Stearns
Academic Advisor
Westminster Presbyterian

Jenny Troyer
New Providence Presbyterian Church

Rev. Tim Reynolds
Second Presbyterian Church, Knoxville

Sam Pittenger
First Presbyterian Church, Knoxville

Lyn Oakley 
Fountain City Presbyterian Church, Knoxville

Katherine Henderson
Alumni Representative

Ken Scarbro
Lake Hills Presbyterian Church

William Owen
Second Presbyterian Church